Movie Review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1

MV5BMTcxNDI2NDAzNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODM3MTc2MjE@._V1_SX214_AL_ The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 directed by: Francis Lawrence

Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth

IMDB: 7.1

Rotten Tomatoes: 66%

Katniss Everdeen is in District 13 after she shatters the games forever. Under the leadership of President Coin and the advice of her trusted friends, Katniss spreads her wings as she fights to save Peeta and a nation moved by her courage.

three-half-stars

The Mockingjay is probably my favourite book of The Hunger Games series, which is why it pains me to say that part 1 is definitely my least favourite of the movies thus far. Was it really necessary for them to split the movie into two parts? Obviously no, the decision to split the movie in half is probably due to the fact that Hollywood wants to suck more money out of my (boyfriend’s) pocket. 

The thing with this movie, is that the beginning is really slow. Actually, the majority of the movie was just slow, and a lot of the scenes I could have done without. In the moment, I thought a lot of the scenes with President Snow were unnecessary, but afterwards I realized that they were important. Those who didn’t read the book, needed to know what the hell was going on in his head.

Another thing about this movie … I was unimpressed with the lack of Peeta scenes. Or the lack of Peeta/Katniss scenes in general. As I sat down at the theatres, it dawned on me that there wouldn’t be very many Peeta scenes because there wasn’t a lot of Peeta in the first part of the book. As you can imagine, I was highly distressed and already began to dislike part 1. Peeta’s interview with Caesar was toned down, which was disappointing. I expected them to at least keep the outburst, because it was important to show Peeta’s efforts to keep Katniss from being implicated should she ever be captured.

Also, I love Effie. When I saw her, I was pleasantly surprised because she wasn’t present in the beginning of the book. And then I waited for the prep team to show up and waited and waited until we got almost half-way through when I realized they weren’t going to bring the prep team. I get the reasoning for doing this, but I really did fall in love with them during the book. The prep team didn’t really play a huge part in the first two movies, so I can see why they replaced them with Effie. It’s a smart decision, but still sad about it. Effie brought a light mood to the film, where it could have gone a more darker route like the book did.

My favourite part is when Natalie Dormer shows up, with her hair and everything! God, I love that woman. Her hair really stood out for me because I’m so used to seeing her in roles like the Tudors and Game of Thrones, so it was nice to see such a change with her trying to be The Queen.

One scene I particularly enjoyed was Jennifer Lawrence’s singing by the river. Not only was it brilliant for Coin and Plutarch because they were able to get something to manipulate the districts, but it was one of the more simpler, touching scenes.

In any case, I will reserve full judgment about the movie once part two comes out at the end of the year. Just as long as there is less Gale/Katniss scenes. Every time they kiss a piece of my soul dies… if only I could boo out loud in the theatres without everyone killing me.

tumblr_mzm2h9NPE51sjifi3o3_500

I need more of this

Leave a Reply

